Singles – 1994 Stadium Club 1 Super Team Cards

I cheated this week.  In my quest to pick up singles to fill out some sets, I went ahead and bought a complete set of cards.  The set is 1994 Stadium Club 1 Super Team Cards.  I don’t normally buy sets of cards, but the price was right. I already had about a dozen of the 28 cards, so I have plenty of doubles now. Even so, the price was very good.

These cards were inserted one per box and were part of a contest. Collectors could send in the cards of playoff teams for special redemptions. The joke ended up being on Topps as the 1994 season finished with a strike. I think Topps honored the cards based on how teams finished the 1995 season. I have seen Atlanta cards (the 1995 World Series winner) that have been redeemed with a special foil stamp and the word “redeemed” on the back. I’m not sure if one form carries a premium over the other. The Baltimore Orioles card seems to be the most expensive card in the set.

ST1 Atlanta Braves (front – normal and redeemed)

ST1 Atlanta Braves (reverse – normal and redeemed)

ST15 Baltimore Orioles

The Stadium Club cards weren’t the only ones I picked up this week.  I also picked up a mess of 1992 Triple Play commons to fill some set holes from the box I broke earlier this month.

Leave a Reply

