TTM – 1998 SkyBox Thunder Tony Gwynn

Is this SkyBox Thunder, Circa Thunder, or SkyBox Circa Thunder (or something else altogether)? Whatever. You get the idea.

This is a through-the-mail signed card of Tony Gwynn.

This card was obtained in 1998. I can’t remember if I picked up this card (the unsigned card) from a pack or in a separate purchase of cards. At the time, the word on the street was that Gwynn would sign two items by mail. I don’t know if that was true or not because I only sent out single cards. If you look closely, you can see some white dots just to the right of the downstroke of the ‘y’ in Gwynn. These are impressions from the letter cancellation. In hand, I think the cancellation says 01 MAY in the middle. Nothing else is legible.

I was pumped to get this card back. Most of my signed cards were Topps. Not only was this a different brand, but it was Gwynn – a bona fide star.

Leave a Reply

