The Beckett Marketplace girl

I would love to have a big post today about the National. It would go something like, “I sat down and had a beer with the CEO of Topps to talk about problems in the hobby. He was very interested in what I had to say.” Unfortunately, the reality is that I am at home, and home for me is not in Baltimore. So, instead of putting my finger on the pulse of the card collecting world, I’m going to talk about something that has been bothering me for a while – the girl in the banner ad on Beckett Marketplace.

I say the girl in the ad because I’m sure you know what I’m talking about. Why would you have noticed her? The world is full of beautiful women, and the internet clearly has its fair share. It’s not that she’s such a stunner that you must have seen her; it’s that she is so completely out of place. The banner ad (most of it) is shown below.

Let’s see… what is in the picture? It is all stuff you can buy on Beckett Marketplace. There are UltraPro pages, a Ted Williams single-signed ball (real or fake?), some cards, a Tony Romo signed helmet, a Manning relic card, etc. This is all normal stuff. Who doesn’t belong? – the blonde holding up the wall on the left.

Who is she? When I first saw the image, I thought that the woman might be Maria Sharapova. She’s probably an athlete, and how many blonde, recognizable, female athletes are out there. Exactly. Sharapova is pretty much the entire list. I don’t want to get too much into the picture because the discussion sounds creepy and makes me sound like a stalker. Suffice it to say, if that is Sharapova, then they doctored her a lot. So, to answer my own question, I have no idea who it is. That is a problem.

Look at the picture again. It is full of recognizable faces – Jordan, Simpson, Manning – all on cards or memorabilia. (I can’t make out the Penquins player, but I’m sure hockey fans know who that is on the Beckett-slabbed auto card.) Everyone and everything in the picture should be recognizable. This is about cards and memorabilia. You want things in the picture that fans want to buy. That is the problem with the woman. First, whoever she is, you cannot buy her through Beckett Marketplace. Second, she is not exactly recognizable. Sharapova or not, she is there as eye candy and makes no sense in the picture.

Is a Ted Williams signed ball eye candy? In a way, yes, and you can buy one (or two or eight). The same goes for all the other items in the picture, except the chick in hot shorts. What is my point? Beckett, do a new graphic to advertise your Marketplace.

3 responses to “The Beckett Marketplace girl

  1. john bateman

    Probably a look a like because it would cost Beckett to use her image

  2. same photo shoot. def’ her

    • Good find. I poked around a bit, but I couldn’t find anything. I had a hard time explaining to my wife why I was searching for pictures of Maria Sharapova in shorts.

Leave a Reply

