Today some Reds cards, tomorrow the world

I just completed my first trade as a member of the blogging community. Mike from over at BA Benny’s was interested in a couple cards from a 2005 Topps Chrome pack I ripped a couple weeks ago (Posada and Martinez). My wantlist is a bit limited right now, so Mike agreed to send some miscellaneous Cincinnati Reds cards. Here is what arrived in my mailbox on Saturday.

1992 Leaf – Jason Brumfield (never heard of him)
1990 Score – Paul O’Neill (To all: Remember him as a Red, not a Yankee.)

1990 Donruss – Todd Benzinger (Benzinger a Grand Slammer?)
1990 Topps – Jose Rijo (my second favorite Reds pitcher after Mario Soto)

2005 Fleer Showcase – Tony Perez (Is the Big Cat worthy of the HOF?)
1988 Donruss – Ted Power (I have tried to forget this name.)

1990 Topps – Barry Larkin (Is Barry worthy of the HOF? I’m leaning toward no.)
2010 Topps Finest – Edinson Volquez (great game last weekend against Colorado)

2009 Topps Chrome – Javier Valentin (never could hold the regular catcher spot for Reds)
2004 Topps Chrome – Sean Casey (great Red, hit .529 in 17 AB in World Series with Detroit in 2006)

2003 Topps Chrome – Corky Miller (currently the 3rd Reds catcher)

Overall, some very nice cards. I would like to say that my trading skill put me on the positive end of this trade. In reality, Mike was very generous. Thank you Mike.

As I have said over and over again, I haven’t seen many modern cards since about 1985. Therefore, it’s fun to see a mix of cards from the past 25 years to see what has been going on in the hobby.

Leave a Reply

